Skip to Content

University Registrar

  • Greener Statue

2026-27 Official Academic Calendar

The University Registrar establishes the official calendar followed by the University of South Carolina system. Access the full current and upcoming semester academic calendars to find key dates and information including holidays, registration dates, payment deadlines, drop or add dates, exams and commencement for each term. 

Event Date
New Student Convocation Aug. 16, Sunday
Faculty Reporting Date Aug. 17, Monday
Classes Begin Aug. 18, Tuesday
Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Aug. 24, Monday
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Sept. 7, Monday
Last day to apply for December graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Midpoint in Semester Oct. 12, Monday
Fall Break (no classes) TENTATIVE Oct. 15 - 16, Thursday - Friday
General Election Day (no classes) Nov. 3, Tuesday
Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Nov. 4, Wednesday
Thanksgiving Recess (no classes) Nov. 22 - 29, Sunday - Sunday
Last Day of Classes Dec. 4, Friday
Reading Day Dec. 5, Saturday
Final Examinations (includes exams on Saturday) Dec. 7 - 14, Monday - Monday
Commencement Exercises in Columbia Dec. 14, Monday
Event Date
Classes Begin Jan. 11, Monday
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Day (no classes) Jan. 18, Monday
Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Jan. 19, Tuesday
Last day to apply for May graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Midpoint in Semester March 4, Thursday
Spring Break (no classes) March 7 - 14, Sunday - Sunday
Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) March 29, Monday
Awards Day April 15, Thursday
Last Day of Classes April 26, Monday
Reading Day April 27, Tuesday
Final Examinations (includes exams on Saturday) April 28 - May 5, Wednesday - Wednesday
Commencement Exercises in Columbia May 7 - 8, Friday - Saturday

Please refer to your campus calendars or records office for summer class dates or Self Service Carolina (SSC) for summer schedule information (available Spring 2027).

Event Date
Memorial Day Holiday (no classes)  May 31, Monday
Last day to apply for Summer graduation Graduation Application Deadline
Independence Day Holiday Observed (no classes)   July 5, Monday
Summer Graduation 
(note – there is no Summer Commencement Exercise) 
Aug. 15, Sunday

 

Event Date
Class Schedule Activated in Self Service Carolina (SSC)  TBD
 SCHC Advisor Registration Begins TBD
Graduate students time tickets begin TBD
Undergraduate time tickets begin TBD

Payment deadlines for each semester are set by the Bursar's Office. 

The dates listed below are for classes that meet for the full term during the Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 semester. Each part of term has specific drop, add, and refund dates. Review your schedule in Self Service Carolina (SSC) to determine the part of term for your classes.

Event Date
Fall 2026: Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Aug. 24, Monday
Fall 2026: Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Nov. 4, Wednesday
Spring 2027: Last day to change/drop a course without a grade of "W" being recorded (Part of Term 30) Jan. 19, Tuesday
Spring 2027: Last day to drop a course or withdraw without a grade of "WF" being recorded (Part of Term 30) March 29, Monday
Event Date
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Sept. 7, Monday
Fall Break (no classes) TENTATIVE Oct. 15 - 16, Thursday - Friday
General Election Day (no classes) Nov. 3, Tuesday
Thanksgiving Recess (no classes) Nov. 22 - 29, Sunday - Sunday
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Day (no classes) Jan. 18, Monday
Spring Break (no classes) March 7 - 14, Sunday - Sunday
Memorial Day Holiday (no classes) May 31, Monday
Independence Day Holiday Observed (no classes) July 5, Monday

See the complete exam schedule. The final exam schedule is designed for full semester length classes. Not all class meeting times are reflected. Your instructor will announce your exam time if it is not listed.

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©