Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Chairs and Directors

Department chairs and program directors are the leaders within the college's academic units, and serve as liaisons between the administration and faculty. Chairs and directors are responsible for stimulating and encouraging diversity and professional growth among faculty and students.

Search by keyword or name to find the director or chair of a specific program, school, center, or institute in the College of Arts and Sciences. Select a link below to filter the list.

Academic Unit Name Title Full Title (hidden column) Email Phone Keywords
African American Studies and Research April Langley Chair  Chair langlea@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-7248 Chair/Director
Anthropology Jennifer Reynolds Chair  Chair jenreyn@sc.edu 803-777-5527 Chair/Director
Biological Sciences Tammi Richardson Chair  Chair richar78@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-6389 Chair/Director
Chemistry and Biochemistry Qian Wang Chair  Chair wang263@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-2682 Chair/Director
Criminology and Criminal Justice Wendy Regoeczi Chair  Chair regoeczi@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-6537 Chair/Director
English Susan Courtney Chair  Chair sccourtn@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-7120 Chair/Director
Geography Jerry Mitchell Chair  Chair mitchejt@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-0328 Chair/Director
History Jessica Elfenbein Chair  Chair jessicae@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-3282 Chair/Director
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Paul Malovrh Chair  Chair malovrh@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4882 Chair/Director
Mathematics Linyuan (Lincoln) Lu Chair  Chair lu@math.sc.edu 803-777-4154 Chair/Director
Philosophy Matthew Kisner Chair  Chair kisner@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4166 Chair/Director
Physics and Astronomy Alexey Petrov Chair  Chair apetrov@sc.edu 803-777-4166 Chair/Director
Political Science Kirk Randazzo Chair  Chair randazzo@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-3109 Chair/Director
Psychology Nicole Zarrett Chair  Chair zarrettn@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4638 Chair/Director
Religious Studies Adam Schor Interim Chair Interim Chair schor@mailbox.sc.edu  803-777-5195  Chair/Director
School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment Peter Chametzky, Interim Director Chair  Chair chametzk@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-9823 Chair/Director
School of Visual Art and Design Laura Kissel, Director Chair  Chair kissel@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4236 Chair/Director
Sociology Matthew Brashears Chair  Chair brasheam@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-6988 Chair/Director
Statistics David Hitchcock, Interim Chair Chair  Chair hitchcock@stat.sc.edu 803-777-5346 Chair/Director
Theatre and Dance Stephanie Milling Chair  Chair smilling@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-0768 Chair/Director
Women’s and Gender Studies Stephanie Mitchem, Interim Chair Chair  Chair mitchesy@sc.edu 803-576-5995 Chair/Director
Baruch Institute Bill Strosnider, Interim Director Director  Director strosniw@mailbox.sc.edu 843-904-9031 Director
Ann Johnson Institute Allison Marsh, Co-Director Leah McClimans, Co-Director Director  Director marsha@mailbox.sc.edu lmm@sc.edu 803-777-0041 803-777-3731 Director
Cardiovascular Technology Lydia Matesic Director  Director lmatesic@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-2520 Director
Colorectal Cancer Prevention Network Annie Thibault, Director Director  Director thibaula@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-1231 Director
Electron Microscopy Center Soumitra Ghoshroy Director  Director ghoshroy@sc.edu 803-777-7085 Director
Humanities Collaborative Holly Crocker Director  Director hcrocker@mailbox.sc.edu 803-576-5957 Director
Institute for Mind and Brain Rutvik Desai, Interim Director Director  Director rutvik@sc.edu 803-777-9029 Director
McCausland Center for Brain Imaging Chris Rorden Director  Director rorden@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4137 Director
McKissick Museum Lana Burgess, Interim Director Director  Director lburgess@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-5486 Director
Neuroscience Jessica Green Director  Director greenjj3@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-4595 Director
SC Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology Adam King Director  Director aking000@mailbox.sc.edu 803-576-6577 Director
Science Ed, Center for Katherine Ryker, Co-Director Sean Yee, Co-Director Director  Director kryker@seoe.sc.edu yee@math.sc.edu 803-777-9513 803-777-6884 Director
Film and Media Studies Program Julie Hubbert Interim Director Interim Director jhubbert@mozart.sc.edu 803-777-4236 Director
Jewish Studies Program Saskia Coenen Snyder Director  Director saskiacs@sc.edu 803-777-7472 Director
Linguistics Program Dr. Emily Manetta Director  Director emanetta@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-8312 Director
Southern Studies, Institute for Mark Smith Director  Director smithmm@mailbox.sc.edu 803-777-6362 Director
Walker Institute of International and Area Studies Carl Dahlman Director  Director carl.dahlman@sc.edu 803-777-4558 Director

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©