Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Headshot of Eleni Econopouly Econopouly, Eleni
Email:  elenie@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Nagel
Research:  Social movements, alter-globalization, crisis adaptation
Headshot of Elandé Engelbrecht Engelbrecht, Elandé
Email:  elande.eng@sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, shoreline changes, GIS, remote sensing
Headshot of Robert Gudea Gudea,  Robert
Email:  rgudea@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hardy
Research:  Climate change transitions, environmental justice, environmental racism, qualitive, renewable energy
Headshot of Margot Habets
Habets, Margot
Email:  MHABETS@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, long-term recovery
Headshot of Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email:  mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
Headshot of Youngjae Kim Kim,  Youngjae
Email:  yk4@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, sediment transport, UAS applications, remote sensing
Headshot of Naser Lessani Lessani, Naser
Email:  mlessani@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geographic Information Science, big data analysis, digital mapping 
Headshot of Bianca Malkoc Malkoc, Bianca
Email:  bmalkoc@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  DeBoom
Research:  Political ecology, legal and political geography, coastal infrastructure 
Headshot of Benjamin Marosites Marosites, Benjamin
Email:  marosite@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Boundary layer meteorology and instrumentation
Headshot of Mike Mewborne Mewborne, Michael
Email:  mewbornj@mailbox.sc.edu
Advisor:  Barnes
Research:  Food, place, equity, urban landscapes
Headshot of Olarewaju Omomeji Omomeji, Olarewaju
Email:  oomomeji@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Carbone
Research:  Climate change, extreme heat, urban climatology, GIS & remote sensing
Headshot of Jill Thornton Thornton, Jill
Email:  jillt@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Nagel
Research:  Migration and refugees, geopolitics, faith-based activities, conflict (resolution)



Master's Students

Barone, Olivia
Email:
Advisor:
Research:
Headshot of Kyser Daniels-Baessler Daniels-Baessler, Kyser
Email:  KD72@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Emergency management, remote sensing, hazards and vulnerability, resilience
Headshot of Suzan Edwards Edwards, Suzan
Email:  se27@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Community resilience to terrorism, risk methodology
Headshot of Jocelyn Falkenstine Falkenstine, Jocelyn
Email:  falkensj@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hardy
Research:  Privatization of conservation, ecosystem flows, environmental justice, microclimatology
Headhsot of Jessica Flach Flach, Jessica
Email:  jflach@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Nagel
Research:  Critical cultural geography, tourism, world-making
Headshot of Jenna Haver Haver, Jenna
Email:  jlhaver@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kneas
Research:  Political ecology, environmental policy, energy transitions
Headshot of Michael Hohlfeld Hohlfeld, Michael
Email:  hohlfeld@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Climatology, GIS
Headshot of Maggie Kemp Kemp, Erin (Maggie)
Email:  ekemp@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Coastal hazards, emergency management
Headshot of Joseph McGuinn McGuinn, Joseph
Email:  jmcguinn@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  C. Wang
Research:  Remote sensing, aerial photography, harmful algal blooms
Headshot of Ian O'Shea O'Shea, Ian
Email:  IOSHEA@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kneas
Research:  Human geography, political geography, land and water rights
Headshot of Andrew Prado-Alipui Prado-Alipui, Andrew
Email:  PRADOALA@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  DeBoom
Research:  Political geography, Sub-Saharan Africa, energy, resource politics
Headshot of Amanda Rahimian Rahimian, Amanda
Email:  rahimian@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Carbone
Research:  Climate change, natural hazards and climate extremes, climate policy
Headshot of Breonna Roden Roden, Breonna
Email:  RODENB@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  C. Wang
Research:  Remote sensing, GIS, hazards
headshot of Kate Seikel Seikel, Kate
Email:  kseikel@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Micrometeorology, eddy covariance
Headshot of Sydney Smith Smith, Sydney
Email:  ss154@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hardy
Research:  Political ecology, environmental racism, and coastal climate adaptation
Headshot of Gwyneth Waddington Waddington, Gwyneth
Email:  waddingg@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Environmental hazards, social vulnerability, community resilience

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©